Architecture in the Android App: Bakery Story

Bakery Story: Just For Fun

Though I have a lot of plates and school works to attend to, I still keep a couple of android games. One of my favorite games is the Bakery Story, a free app powered by TeamLava, a Storm8 studio. Extra game coins and gems may be bought with real money, and despite my addiction to it, I have not tried doing this yet (and I’m not actually planning to). In this game, the player gets to run his or her own bakery by preparing food and drinks and making sure that they are served on time. This is one thing I love about the game – I can play it while doing a bunch of other things. I can just set my ovens and just get back to them after a couple minutes or hours. The excessive time consumption takes place whenever I try to complete goals and visit neighbors (Bakery Story is a social game. As such it can be shared with friends from all over the internet). And of course, another activity which takes so long to finish is the designing of the virtual bakery’s interior.

I have been playing the game for almost three weeks now and I’m at level 22. Though it’s just a little game, I decided to treat it like it’s one of my design plates. I wanted to come up with a legit design concept and as much as possible apply what I have learned so far in Architecture. Besides, our most recent design plate is about a free-standing cafeteria. I just thought that I had to give my virtual bakery justice. It sounds crazy doing all these nerdy stuff in a game like this… but it’s fun.

At first, my bakery was plain and simple. Level after level, I unlocked new and better items until I saw a table-and-chair set called “Dainty”. Given this inspiration, I decided to use the same word “Dainty” as the design concept. I wanted to come up with a bakery that is “small”, “delicate”, and “pretty”, adjectives which perfectly sum up to the concept word.

Screenshot_2014-02-28-00-59-27

Dainty Set

My virtual bakery really is small because my level in the game isn’t very high yet. However, by the word small, I’m referring not to the size alone but also the “feel”. A huge bakery with so much seats would have been too overwhelming to my virtual customers (who probably don’t “feel” my design at all, which is sort of heartbreaking). By the time I get to expand my bakery, I’m planning to add partitions to retain that small and secured feeling.

Screenshot_2014-02-26-00-13-12

The Dainty Bakery

The bakery’s design is also delicate such that the arrangement of the chairs, tables, and counters is very neat and organized. Its over-all look is light and classy, and the whole delicate feel is there. This adjective also describes the food served which taste pleasant and not too strong or intense. To add to the delicate feel, I thought of coming up with a centerpiece of the entire bakery. It consists of a wooden column surrounded by the display counters. I added the brown chairs called “Ship Barrel” but for me looked more like wheels. The resulting centerpiece looks like something that spins with all the food on it.  It is actually the incorporated concept of a classy and delicate Lazy Susan.

Screenshot_2014-02-28-00-58-59

Lastly, it is pretty by just the way it looks. The colors pink and brown give a very feminine feel and look attractive and relaxing to the eyes.

Not So Legit

Screenshot_2014-02-26-00-14-35

Door Blocking the Casheir

Of course, aside from the aesthetics of the design, I wanted to take into consideration the functionality of the bakery. As I attempted to make a space programming, I learned that the Bakery Story isn’t actually a good thing to practice my designing skills on. This is because of the not-so-realistic format of the game. For example, the users are just the customers and cashier; no need to allot space for the cooks. The plates magically appear and disappear on tables; no need to consider the circulation of waiters. Also, the virtual people don’t mind being blocked by the opening and closing door. Therefore, I adjusted the programming according to this format. I crammed the ovens together to save space and placed the cashier directly next to the entrance because that’s the very first thing the customers go to when they enter.

Conclusion

After all, Bakery Story is just another game I love to play. No pressure. No deadlines. But since I’m designing anyway, might as well exercise the things I have learned so far, although not necessarily to the full extent. Designing is a process and everything has to go somewhere for a reason. Our arki professors always remind us to look at the bigger picture in studying architecture. If this means applying all that we’ve learned even to android games, I’m not quite sure. But I feel good whenever I open my little bakery and think about how much thought I put into it. Having a concept makes me excited to level up and expand the bakery, knowing where I’m going and wondering what more I could do. It simply makes the fun game more exciting.

Leave a Reply

